en	[[!meta title="Resetting a USB stick using Linux"]]
zh	[[!meta title="使用 Linux 重置 USB 记忆棒"]]

en	[[!inline pages="doc/reset.intro" raw="yes" sort="age"]]
zh	[[!inline pages="doc/reset.intro.zh" raw="yes" sort="age"]]

en	[[!toc levels=1]]

en	Using the *Disks* utility

en	<div class="caution">

en	You might overwrite any hard disk on the computer.
zh	您有可能会覆盖计算机上的磁盘。

en	If at some point you are not sure about which device to choose, stop proceeding.
zh	如果您在任何时候不确定选择的设备，请勿继续。

en	</div>

en	Make sure that the USB stick that you want to reset is unplugged.
zh	确保您想要重置的 USB 记忆棒还未插入计算机中。

en	Choose **Applications**&nbsp;▸ **Utilities**&nbsp;▸ **Disks** to start the *Disks* utility.

en	A list of all the storage devices on the computer appears in the left pane of the window.
zh	计算机上所有存储设备将会显示在窗口左侧栏目的列表中。

en	Plug in the USB stick that you want to reset.
zh	插入您需要重置的 USB 记忆棒。

en	A new device appears in the list of storage devices. This new device corresponds to the USB stick that you plugged in. Click on it.
zh	存储设备列表中将会出现您刚刚插入的 USB 记忆棒。 点击它。

en	In the right pane of the window, verify that the device corresponds to the USB stick that you want to reset, its brand, its size, etc.

en	To reset the USB stick, click on the [[!img lib/view-more.png alt="Drive Options" class="symbolic" link="no"]] button in the title bar and choose **Format Disk** to erase all the existing partitions on the device.

en	In the **Format Disk** dialog:

en	If you want to overwrite all data on the device, choose **Overwrite existing data with zeroes** in the **Erase** menu.

en	<div class="caution">

en	Overwriting existing data does not erase all data on flash memories, such as USB sticks and SSDs (Solid-State Drives).

en	See the [[limitations of file deletion|doc/encryption_and_privacy/secure_deletion#spare]].

en	</div>

en	Choose **Compatible with all systems and devices (MBR/DOS)** in the **Partitioning** menu.

en	Click **Format**.

en	In the confirmation dialog, click **Format** to confirm.

en	To make sure that all the changes are written to the USB stick, click on the

en	[[!img lib/media-eject.png alt="Eject" class="symbolic" link="no"]]

en	button in the title bar.

en	Resetting a Tails USB stick from itself

en	If Tails is your only Linux system, you can generally reset a Tails USB stick directly from that USB stick while running Tails.

en	When starting Tails, add the `toram` boot option in the *Boot Loader*.

en	See [[using the *Boot Loader*|advanced_topics/boot_options]].

en	If Tails starts as usual, follow the instructions for [[resetting a USB stick using the *Disks* utility|linux#disks]].

en	**If the system fails to start**, that means that the computer does not have enough memory for this operation mode. Try with another computer, or find another Linux system, such as another Tails USB stick, to do the reset from.