en	What are SSL certificates?
zh-tw	什麼是 SSL 證書？

en	Using HTTPS instead of plain HTTP to connect to a website allows you to encrypt your communication with the server. But encryption alone does not guarantee that you are talking with the right server, and not someone impersonating it, for example in case of a man-in-the-middle attack.
zh-tw	使用 HTTPS 取代明文的 HTTP 來進行網站連線，可以加密訪客與伺服器之間的通訊。但只有加密並不能保證用戶是和正確的伺服器通話，難保不會有人假借身份，例如在[[中間人攻擊|doc/about/warning#man-in-the-middle]]的情況下。

en	Weaknesses of the system
zh-tw	系統的弱點

en	But this trust system has proven to be flawed in many ways. For example, during 2011, two certificate authorities were compromised, and many fake certificates were issued and used in the wild. See [Comodo: The Recent RA Compromise](https://blog.comodo.com/other/the-recent-ra-compromise/) and [The Tor Project: The DigiNotar Debacle, and what you should do about it](https://blog.torproject.org/blog/diginotar-debacle-and-what-you-should-do-about-it).
zh-tw	但這個信任系統有一些缺點，例如在2011年，二個憑證機構受到破壞，發出了許多假造的憑證且被廣泛使用。 請見[Comodo: The Recent RA Compromise](http://blogs.comodo.com/it-security/data-security/the-recent-ra-compromise/) 以及[The Tor Project: The DigiNotar Debacle, and what you should do about it](https://blog.torproject.org/blog/diginotar-debacle-and-what-you-should-do-about-it).

en	It is clear for us that getting an commercial SSL certificate is not enough to strongly authenticate our website, and for example authenticity of our releases. That's why we always propose you stronger ways of authenticating our Tails release using OpenPGP signatures.

en	Why get a commercial certificate then?
zh-tw	為何要採用商用證書？

en	It makes it harder to setup a simplistic man-in-the-middle attacks against the people who didn't use HTTPS so far to visit our website.
zh-tw	讓想對那些不使用 HTTPS 來訪問官網的使用，更難以進行簡單[[中間人攻擊|doc/about/warning#man-in-the-middle]] 操作。